Sarah J. Maas Thoughts

Hello Bookish Friends,

Since the release day for Kingdom of Ash has come and gone I wanted to put my thoughts across for the Sarah J Maas books.

I absolutely love the Court of Thorns and Roses series. At first, I was a little sceptical because the first book is a loose beauty and the Beast retelling. However, I pushed through and as a whole, I really enjoyed the book, the ending is so fast-paced and detailed that I couldn’t put it down. It is certainly a book I want to re-read soon. The second book is absolutely amazing and so detailed, I couldn’t put the book down as I was hooked on the characters, storyline and everything else. Also, the UK edition of these books are beautiful, the colours of the covers are so bright mixed with the dark illustration that I couldn’t not pick them up. The third book wasn’t as good as the second but I still really enjoyed it, after the second book there wasn’t much that could surpass it. I found the novella was a little like fan fiction but it certainly made me smile. I love all the characters and the development of that series.

Now onto my thoughts on the Throne of Glass series, After reading ACOTAR I was really pumped to read Throne of Glass and see how Sarah J. Maas develops in a new series. It took me a little while to get through the first book but overall it was really good. It certainly gave me ACOTAR vibes but it felt as if it was a different world within the same universe. I was afraid for ages to pick up the first in the TOG series, although the cover was beautiful and so many people said it was really good, I was still sceptical to pick it up. For ages, I couldn’t get fully immersed in a fantasy book but after I finally managed to read this I was so invested in the series. The only issue for me was that the books kept getting longer and longer. KOA is almost 1000 pages, but I am committed to the series now. I have read four books in the series now and I have nearly finished The Assassins blade novellas. So I only have Empire of storms, Tower of Dawn and Kingdom of Ash to catch up on.

The relationships, plot and characters are all well thought out within this book. However, I don’t like how some relationships are just thrown away when a new character is introduced. I understand why it needed to happen, but that is one thing that really bugged me. Also making that character an ass just to fit the plotline with the new characters was a little hard to grasp at first. I am really enjoying the books at the moment and It is still taking me a while to get through them but I am certainly still enjoying the world and the plot.

 

As always, happy reading

Korie xx

One thought on “Sarah J. Maas Thoughts

Leave a comment